Work on the Tiny House Continues!

So another year has gone by, and the tiny house has come along, albeit very slowly.  My family was unable to visit this summer, and I was hoping to get my father’s help with construction but unfortunately that didn’t happen.  Though I also encountered another problem…it’s so hard to do anything other relax and hang out when we’re out there!  I arrive with the best of intentions, but alas…I tend to be overwhelmed by the desire to either do nothing, or read a book.   However, I did manage to get a few things done this summer.  I enlisted one of the neighbors to install the large window that I’d inadvertently broken when bringing it out last year.  He’s assured me that it will be easy to order a new pane of glass and just replace the one that’s cracked.  I have to say, I was a little nervous seeing a gigantic hole being cut in the side of the house, but once it was in, I was SO happy I had him do it.  Even with the cracked pane, the view to the forest is so beautiful!  And it lets even more light into the tiny house.

New window installed!
New window installed!
Me cleaning up the intact window pane.
Me cleaning up the intact window pane.

One of my other projects this summer was to work on my wood floor.  I decided to go with a lime wash by a company called Roma.  It’s a fairly involved process but I figured that since I only have 200 square feet of flooring, how much work could it be?  As it turns out…A LOT.   There were so many steps involved, but in the end, the wood planks took on a beautiful patina and color.  Behold!

Look how pretty!
Look how pretty!
Close up of lime washed planks.
Close up of lime washed planks.

I’m really looking forward to seeing the flooring installed!  But I have a lot of work to get done before then.

One of the other tasks I decided to undertake that I was really dreading was insulating the roof.  I decided to use R21 fiberglass batts, and I’m crossing my fingers that I don’t end up with a mold problem.  One of my neighbors, who is a contractor, assured me that since I’m planning to use tongue and groove boards on the ceiling and walls, there should be enough air getting through that I should be fine.  I guess we’ll see if he’s right or not.  I really hope he is right though, because it was kind of terrifying to be up on a ladder that high, in what I call an Oompa Loompa outfit, mask and goggles; I was certain that I would fall at some point and break my neck.  Thankfully though, that didn’t happen.  Here’s what the insulation looks like! (The blue tape I used to join the seams of two separate batts)

I survived this!
I survived this!

I really can’t wait to get further along on the tiny house.  It’s such a peaceful and beautiful place, even though this year there was hardly any snow on the mountains which meant our stream and pond went dry by the beginning of July.  We were also at a huge risk of wild fires this year, which led to state wide burn bans.  Even with no fires in our fire pit, we still got to enjoy being out in nature and making friends with some of the local critters.

IMG_0892 IMG_1613

Hopefully we can get further along and get it completed soon.  Though when that happens, I’ll have an even harder time leaving at the end of each weekend!

Leave a Reply

