Progress on the Tiny House

The family visit was over a few weeks ago, and we managed to get some good work done on the tiny house.  While we didn’t get as far as I’d hoped, we got important non-glamorous work done, like plumbing, insulating the floor, putting up the bathroom walls and installing the pocket door frame.

My dad working on the bathroom
My dad working on the bathroom
Shower plumbing and pocket door frame in!
Shower plumbing and pocket door frame in!

During my family’s stay, I rented a porta-potty so we wouldn’t have to go out into the woods with a shovel and a leaf for toilet paper (a la Russel from Pixar’s “Up”).  My dad installed the toilet in the cabin, so all that’s left to do is put my wall panels up, throw on a toilet seat and voila! Working toilet. Well, except for the water part.  It’ll be a while before I can afford to have a well dug, so for the time being I’ll have to bring water in a bucket from the pond, but hey, the point is I’ll be able to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night without risking being eaten by a bear.

Woo hoo! We have a toilet! (But no seat yet.)
Woo hoo! We have a toilet! (But no seat yet.)

With one of the walls for the bathroom up, the space is starting to feel more defined.  I have a ton of wall insulation and wiring that I have to install, and then it’s on to insulating the cathedral ceiling, but hopefully after that I can start on the tongue and groove paneling for the walls and have everything start to look more finished.  In the picture below you’ll notice that we’ve cut out notches in the loft for the railing posts to sit in.  I’m so excited to keep working on this!  Even though for now, I think I’ll take a break and stay out there a few times before the end of the summer so I can enjoy my little house in the woods.

It's coming along! Yay!
It’s coming along,  y’all!
Leave a Reply

