The Gods of Fortune Smile Upon Me or My West Elm Sofa was on Sale so I Bought It

I’d been wanting the West Elm Bliss sofa for a while now.  Every time I’d go to their Seattle store I’d sit in it and imagine I was out at the tiny house looking through my big window.  At $1299 though, it wasn’t exactly easily attainable with my very limited budget.  Because I tend to obsess over things, I would check the website almost every day to make sure it was still there.  For some reason, when I want something really badly, I become paranoid that if I don’t buy it at that exact moment it will be discontinued tomorrow and I’ll drop to the floor on my knees, sobbing uncontrollably at my misfortune, just like the women on Mexican telenovelas.

One day, I checked the site, and I noticed there was a sale on the Bliss sofa!  But not in the gray fabric I’d been coveting.  This is the one that was on sale:

Image

 

My immediate thought was “Boo! It’s not the right one!” but as I sat there and looked at it, I began to get design ideas.  If I went with this sofa, the rest of my design scheme would probably change and head in a new direction.   Rather than gray with bright colored accents, this sofa could be the main element in a scheme of more subdued colors, for an overall more calm effect than my original concept.  The fabric, a pebble weave that really resembles burlap, would provide a really intense texture, which would warm up the space even if the surrounded colors were more muted.

Image

 

I began to think that perhaps, since my cabin is out in the middle of the forest, surrounded by nature, it would make sense to keep the interior more toned down, so as not to compete with the view outside.  This sofa would be perfect to help me accomplish that.  And, at savings of $700 off the original price, well….how could I resist?   I ordered it right away.

And that meant going back to the drawing board as far as my design scheme.  Which was totally fine, because I was excited about this new direction.

I’ve always loved Scandinavian design, in particular the cute cottages you see that are studies in white.  While I think they’re very beautiful, I also feel like they can come across as very “cold”.   One day I was looking at pictures on Pintrest while deciding on whether or not I should take up knitting, (you know, to have something to do when I wasn’t reading books in front of my cozy fire out at the tiny house during a winter weekend) and I found this image:

Image

 

As you can see, it’s a very Scandinavian minimalistic bedroom all in white, which looks very stark, but the heavy texture of the blanket on the bed really helps to warm up the room.   I figured I could use that same principal with the sofa, and also incorporate another crazy idea that I was having, which was to paint some element, perhaps a wall in the tiny house, black.  I’ve yet to see anyone do this in a tiny house, and probably for the reason that it’s generally believed that lighter colors make rooms look bigger.   However, for some reason I kept having this little idea nag at me, that having a black wall or perhaps black bookshelves would really make a dramatic focal point and make the whole space more intimate.  After doing more research (i.e. spending several more hours on Pintrest) I found this:

Image

I absolutely love it.  It’s so cozy, with the dark paint on the bookshelves.  So, I decided I’d paint most of the tiny house interior white, but have a bit of a dark color, plus the natural burlap sofa and the end result would be a restful, laid back space, rich with texture.  I happened to come across this image whilst researching as well, and it really drove that point home:

Image

 

Notice the white walls, the black free standing cabinet looking things, and the burlap curtain.  That’s my whole scheme, right there in that image.  That’s the look I’ll go for.

It’s interesting how you can think you have your design plan all figured out, and just like that, it changes completely! But, that’s the fun part of designing.  You never really know where a simple change can lead you to, and that journey to the end result is supremely satisfying.

Leave a Reply

