Shoebox Haus Interior (so far)

So, this is what the interior of my tiny house is looking like so far.  

Image

 

VImageImage

 

It’s super exciting to be in the space, already getting an idea of what spending time inside the tiny house will feel like.  I’m also really excited about the skylights in the loft. Because the property is out in the middle of nowhere and there is absolutely zero light pollution, the view of the stars is incredible, and I’m really looking forward to getting to see at least some of them from the comfort of my own bed.

With all the windows and skylights, the quality of light is really great in the space.  Being that this place is off the grid, and solar panels are probably a year or two in the future, it’s important that the tiny house interior not be reliant on artificial lighting.    

Eventually, this is what the finished interior will look like, minus the hideous looking wall sconces (they were the only ones I could find in the Revit library and I really didn’t feel like spending the time to model accurate ones).  

Image

Just imagine totally awesome sconces where those eye sores are now.   It’s going to be a cozy little getaway.  The thought of being surrounded by my books, with a view of the fire going and also the mountains really makes me smile!  Speaking of fire…here’s a peek at my big splurge purchase–a Morso 1440 Squirrel wood stove.  

Image

I love this little thing.  Growing up in Texas, we never had a fireplace and I always thought it would be so cool to have one.  Now, I have my very own little stove.  During a stretch of cold weather we decided to head out to the cabin, even in its unfinished state, and I have to say it was quite fun, huddling around the stove for warmth.  Chito, my 12 year old chihuahua, also seemed to enjoy it.  

Image

 

I did a ton of research on wood stoves for tiny houses, with my main concerns being that I needed one that would A. be small enough to not take up a lot of room and B. provide enough, but not too much heat.  Originally I had my heart set on a Morso 1410, which is the same as the 1440 but with little legs instead of the heat shields, but it turns out the heat shields allow for much less clearance requirements, which in a space this small is really important.   The only downside to this stove is that it can be a challenge to find wood short enough to fit inside.  Aside from that, it seems to work like a charm, and it’s super cute.  

I can’t wait to make more progress on my tiny house! 

Leave a Reply

