Interior Design Concept for my Tiny House

My favorite part of being a designer is finding really cool furniture and accessories and putting them together to create a cohesive design. The overall vibe I decided to go with for my tiny house I would described as “industrial cottage”. I love cottage style–that is, casual, relaxed furnishings that are stylish but not pretentious in any way.  To that I’d add some metal and modern accents to add some pizzaz. Below is my “first draft” at a group of furnishings for my tiny house.

Image

 

I like the idea of doing mostly white and gray, with a few pops of bright color as an accent. And I LOVE the combination of gray with either yellow or orange. The wood stove I’ve decided on is a Morso 1410 Squirrel (More on that on a later post) and I’m choosing the West Elm Bliss sofa as my seating option. I’ve sat in one several times at their store, and not only is it a great looking modern sofa, it’s also really squishy and comfortable. Plus it’s the perfect size. Time to start saving up for that one.

For the flooring, I I’ll probably go with marmoleum. While I’d love a hardwood floor, I don’t think it’s in the budget, and I think having the marmoleum will add a level of “modern-ness” and be easy to clean. Finally, a paper mache deer head will be a nod to the whole “cabin in the woods” thing but without the creepiness of an actual deer hanging on the wall staring back at me.

I’ll probably make adjustments to the design and swap things out as I go along, but I think it’s a good start.

Leave a Reply

