A Short Tiny House Design Detour or The Great Shed Moving Disaster of 2012.

As a designer, I put a lot of thought into my concepts and designs.  As I’m falling asleep in bed, the last things I think about before I nod off are of space layouts, materials and finishes, and just how awesome the design could be if I just tweaked this or that.   

I’d already put quite a bit of work towards a concept for my tiny house, when I received a message from Dave, the man who sold me the property out in the forest.  He still owned a couple of the neighboring properties, and emailed me to ask if I wanted an old shed that was on the lot next door.  He offered to help me move it onto my property.  I was intrigued.  Initially I figured I’d build my own tiny house from scratch but this was a really interesting opportunity to work with an existing structure.   I went to go take a look at it and I immediately noticed its potential:

Image

Image

 

Here was a tiny building with a shed roof and little deck out on the side.  The inside was totally dirty and scary but I got incredibly excited at the thought of converting it into a tiny house.  I took some measurements and began working on ideas.   I came up with a pretty great floor plan (if I do say so myself), so then all that was left was to move it onto my lot.   The day came, and Dave helped me round up some people to help.  It was really hard work–I may be an architect in training but unfortunately I didn’t inherit my dad’s handiness (he’s a carpenter) so I was grateful to be getting help from people who knew what they were doing.  It took all morning, but we finally got the shed up on the trailer.

Dave drove the shed over to my property, and I had him back the trailer up until it was at a good spot.   Then, we began the process of trying to unload the shed from the trailer.  We put up cinder block supports, trying to keep it balanced the whole time.   At some point, something gave way, and with a thunderous crash, the shed fell over to one side and the entire floor collapsed.  By that point, being as tired, sore and frustrated as I was, I yelled something along the lines of “That’s it!! Forget it!!”  Everyone just sort of stood there, shocked and disappointed that all our work was for nothing, and as they all left, I sat there, alone, looking at this now broken down shed, feeling really sad and bummed out.     

The next time I went back to the property, I saw that Dave had taken the backhoe to the remains of the shed, so now all I had was a huge pile of rubble to deal with.   I tried to look on the bright side of things–while the shed would have made a really cool tiny house, at least now I could still design something from the ground up, and maybe salvage some of that material for the new tiny house.   

Back to the drawing board!

 

 

Leave a Reply

